SOME GCSEs will be graded from 9 to 1 this year when the results are published on Thursday, instead of the traditional A* to G. Confused? Read our handy guide to the new GCSE grades.

What has changed?

A new type of GCSE is being introduced by the Government, and this is the first year that pupils will be graded from 9 to 1 in English literature, English language and maths rather than the traditional A* to G system.

By 2020, all GCSE subjects will be graded from 9 to 1.

Why has the change been made?

The new GCSE is meant to be more rigorous and better prepare pupils for work and further education. The new grading scale has more grades at the higher end with the aim of better recognising the higher achievers.

Which is the highest grade?

Grade 9 is the highest, and grade 1 the lowest.

So is Grade 9 the same as an A*?

No. The Department for Education says the old and new GCSE grading scales do not directly compare, but do align at some points. Broadly the same proportion of students will achieve grade 7 and above as achieved grade A and above in 2016.

What will now be the all-important grade C, which for many holds to key to employment and further education?

The bottom of grade C will be the same as the bottom of grade 4 ie grade 4 is now the standard pass required by many employers and colleges.

  • See on Thursday for live updates and reaction from schools around the region as pupils find out their results.